Borough of State College News Release

For Immediate Release


2019 Authorities, Boards, Commissions and Committees (ABC) Appreciation Dinner

On Thursday, April 18, 2019, the Borough of State College held the 2019 Authorities, Boards, Commissions and Committees (ABC) Appreciation Dinner at the Ramada State College. Each year the State College Borough Council hosts an Appreciation Dinner for its volunteer members of the ABCs.


Arnold Addison Award

Since 2007, the Arnold Addison Award has been given in recognition to a person or group who has impacted the community through Town/Gown relations. Council Member Jesse Barlow presented the 2019 Arnold Addison Award to Professor Shoba Sivaprasad Wadhia, Clinical Professor of Law and Director, Penn State Law’s Center for Immigrants' Rights Clinic. She was recognized for her expertise and insight has assisted the State College Police Department and Borough Council develop immigrant rights policies and resolution. These actions helped the Borough become a more welcoming community to all regardless of citizen status.


The Legacy Award

The Legacy Award, first given in 1991, recognizes persons or organizations that have led in the creation of a significant service facility or program which has improved the appearance, health or welfare of the Borough of State College. One Legacy Award was presented this year.

The Legacy Award was presented by Council Member Theresa Lafer to Thomas Daubert, who has served the Borough in a multitude of different positions since 1990. Daubert first took office in 1992, he served four terms before going off Council in 2008 and 2009 when limits of two consecutive terms were put in place and once again was elected to consecutive terms in 2009 and 2013. During his tenure on Council he was council president three times. He has also served as Centre Region Council of Governments chair, Centre Region Council of Government Steering Committee member for Centre Region Parks and Recreation Plan, Borough Planning Commission member, Borough Municipal Service Facility Advisory Committee member, Board of Directors member for the State College Community Land Trust, and Board of Directors member for the Downtown State College Partnership Incorporated. He currently serves as the Borough historian and as a member of the Borough’s Board of Health and University Area Joint Authority. 


Ingrid P. Holtzman Award

The Holtzman Award is presented each year during the Authorities, Boards & Commissions (ABC) Dinner to an individual or organization that provides a quality design project to the State College Borough community. The project must substantially enhance, promote or maintain the aesthetic appearance of the Borough.

Penn State School of Music a unit of the College of Arts and Architecture was awarded the Ingrid P. Holtzman Award for their recent renovations to the Recital Hall, which is a visually stunning 400-seat venue designed to provide each member of the audience with an excellent acoustic experience. The 2019 recognition was presented by Council Member Dan Murphy to Rachel Prinkey, Project Manager at Penn State University.


XYZ Award

The XYZ Award is given annually to a member of an ABC for their service which went above and beyond the call of duty. Council Member Cathy Dauler presented this year’s award to Dr. William Taylor for his service as a member and Chair of the Borough’s Board of Health. Dr. Taylor first began as a member for the Board of Health in 2003 and has been Chair since 2014. His long-standing involvement has been instrumental to meet the Board of Health’s responsibilities include making studies and recommendations for the prevention and control of disease, injury, and preventable death. This includes but is not limited to, communicable diseases, occupational illnesses and accidents, family health and safety, and other health disorders that affect the community’s well-being.


Watch the ABC Dinner on C-Net by clicking here.


Media Contact: If you would like more information about this topic please contact Douglas Shontz by phone at 814-278-4723 or by e-mail at

Powered by CivicSend - A product of CivicPlus